Stopping to Smell Stainforth’s Library Catalog Data Points

I always want to blog about the Stainforth Library authors and works I come across while transcribing, editing data, or encoding, and yet I have a very hard time stopping what I’m doing to actually do this–that is, to share the non-canonical authors that we find during our work, and even the canonical authors that I haven’t studied because they lie outside of my mid-18 to mid-19c zone of expertise. Yet creating awareness of these authors and their texts and making the texts available are some of the primary motivators of this project. When it is something I consider so critically important as well as (truthfully) fun work, why is it so difficult to make time to stop, smell the data as it were, and share what we’re finding?

Read more here (link to original post)

Leave a Reply

